Current Weather

You are here

Log Cabin Democrat’s McCollum receives media honor from AAA

North Little Rock’s David McCollum, who has served as sports editor/editor of the Conway Log Cabin Democrat for 32 years, has been selected to receive the Arkansas Activities Association’s 2014 Distinguished Media Service Award. This is the 18th year for the AAA’s Media award and McCollum is the 20th recipient of the award.

McCollum will receive the award at a Hall of Fame banquet in Hot Springs on Friday, July 11 at the Hot Springs Convention Center.

McCollum is a 1972 Journalism graduate of Baylor. He interned at the Memphis Press-Scimitar for three summers while enrolled at Baylor. He began his sports writing career at Orange, Texas, covering high school, college and professional sports. McCollum became the sports editor of the Arkansas Democrat in 1977 and became the sports editor of the Log Cabin Democrat in 1982.

Since 1982 McCollum has been sports columnist, writing five columns a week in addition to regular sports coverage on a variety of high school, college and pro sports. During is career in Texas and Arkansas, he has written more than 8,700 columns.

McCollum is one of the most decorated sports writers in Arkansas history, having won more than 200 awards for columns, sports news stories, features and regular news stories from organizations that have included the Texas Sports Writers Association, the United State Basketball Writers Association of America, the Football Writers Association of America, the Arkansas Press Association, the Associated Press Managing Editors Association of Arkansas and Associated Press Sports Editors.

While with the Democrat and Log Cabin Democrat, McCollum has covered NCAA championship and playoff events at every level and a wide variety of sports and championship events on every classification in Arkansas. He has analyzed and covered extensively issues involving high school sports in Arkansas and championship teams in a number of sports involving Conway, Greenbrier, Vilonia, Mayflower, St. Joseph, Conway Christian, Guy-Perkins and Mount Vernon-Enola.

McCollum was named the Arkansas Sportswriters of the Year for 2008 by the National Association of Sportscasters and Sports Writers. In 2010, he received the Meritorious Service Award from the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame, an organization on which he has served on the Board of Directors for 33 years.

McCollum and his wife Beverly, a human resources manager, live in North Little Rock. Their son, Gavin, a 2010 graduate of the University of Arkansas, is attending Duke Divinity School.

Previous Winners

1997 — Leland Barclay, Fort Smith

1998 — Jim Bailey, Democrat-Gazette

Harry King, Associated Press

Jim Elder, ARN, Little Rock

1999 — Paul Eells, KATV, Little Rock

2000 — Orville Henry, Donrey Media

2001 — Jerry McConnell, Gazette, Democrat

2002 — Joe Mosby, Conway Log Cabin Democrat

2003 — Robert Yates, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

2004 — James Williams, Texarkana Gazette

2005 — Randy Rainwater, Signal Radio Network

2006 — Frank Lightfoot, White Hall Journal

2007 — Harold Jameson, Magnolia Banner News

2008 — Steve Sullivan, KATV

2009 — Walter Woodie, Fort Smith

2010 — Donna Lampkin Stephens, Conway

2011 — Michael Harrison, CSN

2012 — Bob Wisener, Hot Springs Sentinel Record

2013 — Tim Cooper, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

2014 — David McCollum, Conway Log Cabin Democrat

The North Little Rock Times, Sherwood Voice, Maumelle Monitor, and Jacksonville Patriot websites are available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access these websites at no additional charge.