Current Weather

You are here

Beebe appoints North Little Rock’s Kent Walker to Pulask Tech Board of Trustees

Gov. Mike Beebe last week appointed Kent Walker to the Pulaski Technical College Board of Trustees.

Walker, a North Little Rock attorney, replaces Frank Scott, who stepped down from his post in October after the governor appointed him to the Arkansas Highway Commission.

Pulaski Tech’s seven-member board of trustees is appointed by the governor. Each member serves a seven-year term and resides within the Pulaski Tech service area, which includes Pulaski, Saline, Lonoke and Faulkner counties. Walker’s term will expire July 1, 2019.

“I’m honored to join the Board,” Walker said. “I have seen Pulaski Tech grow each year, both in prestige and students, and look forward to serving. PTC is a dynamic entity to which I hope to contribute.”

Walker lives in North Little Rock and owns Walker Law Firm, PLLC in Little Rock. He is licensed in Arkansas and Colorado and has practiced law for more than eight years representing clients from several states in matters of contractual disputes, real estate issues, small business litigation, oil and gas. In 2012 Walker was named Thompson Reuters’ “Rising Star Superlawyer” for the Mid-South. He also was named to the Arkansas Business “40 under 40” list in 2009 and was named “Best in Biz” by Arkansas Business in 2012.

Walker graduated from Hendrix College with a degree in International Relations and then attended the University of Arkansas Law School in Fayetteville. He is a member of the Arkansas Bar Association, where he serves on the Professional Ethics Committee and Uniform Law Committee. He is also active in the community and serves as chairman of the Argenta Community Development Corporation, a non-profit that helps individuals find affordable housing.

Walker has served on the North Little Rock Chamber of Commerce board since 2009 and is serving his fourth year on the chamber’s Executive Committee. He also is a former chairman of the Pulaski County Election Commission.

The North Little Rock Times, Sherwood Voice, Maumelle Monitor, and Jacksonville Patriot websites are available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access these websites at no additional charge.