Maumelle’s Achor honored by pharmacy association

Custom Search 2

APA President Dana Woods presents the Charles M. West Leadership Award to Brandon Achor during the Arkansas Pharmacists Association Annual Conventon in Fayetteville June 12.

Brandon Achor, third year student at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Pharmacy, was named winner of the 2014 Charles M. West Leadership Award by the Arkansas Pharmacists Association (APA) on Thursday, June 12, during its 132nd Annual Convention held at The Chancellor Hotel in Fayetteville from June 12-14.

“During the past three years at the UAMS College of Pharmacy, Brandon has demonstrated leadership skills as an officer and volunteer for several student organizations,” said APA Executive Vice President and CEO Mark Riley. “His leadership was acknowledged by his peers when he was elected 2013-2014 president of the student chapter of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) at UAMS.”

The Charles M. West Leadership Award honors a student who has demonstrated exemplary leadership abilities and contributed to the profession of pharmacy.

Achor has served as President of the NCPA chapter at UAMS College of Pharmacy from 2013 to 2014 and Vice President from 2012 to 2013. He was Associated Student Government Class Representative in 2011 and was inducted into UAMS’s Beta Iota Chapter of the Rho Chi National Honor Society.

His volunteer activities at UAMS COP include: Big Buck Classic Health Screening volunteer (2014); Amboy Food Drive (2013); Arkansas Rice Depot (2013); Kroger Health Screenings (2011, 2012 and 2013); New Student Orientation Committee (2012 and 2013); and 12th Street Health Fair (2012).

He has worked as a pharmacy technician and intern at Argenta Drug in North Little Rock for four years.

Achor completed his pre-pharmacy course work at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville in 2010 and graduated from Arkansas Baptist High School in 2007. He is a native of Maumelle.

Third year UAMS College of Pharmacy student Melanie Smith also received the 2014 Charles M. West Leadership Award. Previous recipients of the Charles M. West Leadership Award include: 2013, Dylan Jones; 2012, Natalie McDowell; and 2011, Daniel Price.

The North Little Rock Times, Sherwood Voice, Maumelle Monitor, and Jacksonville Patriot websites are available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access these websites at no additional charge.