Current Weather

You are here

Beebe declares 22 counties disaster areas after winter storms

LITTLE ROCK — Gov. Mike Beebe on Friday declared 22 counties disaster areas because of damage caused by severe winter storms last week.

Included in the declaration are Baxter, Crawford, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Newton, Polk, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Scott, Sebastian, Sharp, Stone and Van Buren counties.

The governor’s office said state Department of Emergency Management officials were on the ground Friday with representatives of the Federal Emergency Management Agency in about a dozen of the affected counties and were seeking to determine whether the state will qualify for federal assistance to help counties recover and repair damaged infrastructure.

The North Little Rock Times, Sherwood Voice, Maumelle Monitor, and Jacksonville Patriot websites are available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access these websites at no additional charge.