Current Weather

You are here

First Electric members re-elect Luebke

David Luebke
David Luebke

First Electric Cooperative held its annual membership meeting June 27 at the cooperative’s headquarters in Jacksonville. Members, voting by mail-in ballot, re-elected David Luebke to serve a six-year term on the cooperative’s board of directors.

Luebke, a lifelong resident of Scott, has served on the board since 2000 and represents members in Faulkner, Lonoke, Prairie, Pulaski and White counties.

The First Electric Board of Directors also includes: Chairman Robert Hill, Perryville; Vice Chairman Larry Wood, Lonoke; Secretary-Treasurer Robert Maertens, Benton; Tom Hasty, Almyra; Rick Love, Jacksonville; and Jody Swaffar, Quitman.

First Electric members who returned their ballots were entered in a drawing for prizes. This year’s prizes included five $200 credits for electricity, five air compressors and five waffle irons.

The 2012 Annual Report also was discussed during the meeting. The cooperative ended 2012 with more than $430 million in total assets, and a record-setting $7.189 million was returned to members in the form of capital credit checks.

First Electric serves more than 88,000 active accounts throughout 17 counties in central and southeast Arkansas. The cooperative’s headquarters is located in Jacksonville with full-service offices in Benton, Heber Springs, Perryville and Stuttgart. For more information, call 800-489-7405 or visit or

The North Little Rock Times, Sherwood Voice, Maumelle Monitor, and Jacksonville Patriot websites are available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access these websites at no additional charge.